Presentation @ Meetup on July 23rd – Nihon no Job Market

Thanks for coming to the Meetup! This is a video I prepared for the latest meetup.

We had a newsletter last month

I posted some files on the meetup you might want to view

From the last Nihon no Job Market meetup, we had Q&A like:
Getting a job with no Japanese skills (but 30 years in an industry)
Looking for a job in the securities and banking industry (but small pool of recruiters). How can I find more leads?
Looking for accounting positions as a permanent employee, lot of competitors, is there any good advice or leads?

I have a list of questions Recruiters often ask and a presentation that I gave last time

Internet Job Boards
Careercross
www.careercross.com – very similar to Daijob, owned by JAC recruiting
Daijob
www.daijob.com – Many bilingual jobs, good introduction to bilingual recruiters
Gaijinpot
www.gaijinpot.com – recently sold, mainly for low-level IT jobs and English teaching
www.careerengine.com – backed by gaijinpot and the foreign chambers of commerce
Indeed JP
www.indeed.jp – a job aggregator, pulls in a lot of jobs from all over the internet by keywork
www.bizreach.jp – more for Japanese native speakers, used to pitch as high-paying jobs site

Global Recruitment Companies
Robert Half
Robert Half
Robert Walters
Robert Walters http://www.robertwalters.com
Michael Page
Michael Page
Heidrick & Struggles
Heidrick & Struggles
Korn Ferry
ComputerFutures
S3
Ambition
Hays

Temp Companies (Haken)
Adecco Japan
Manpower Japan
Randstad
Ahuman
TempStaff
Pasona

Japanese Recruitment Consultants
Recruit http://www.recruit-rgf.com/company/group/japan/
JAC Recruitment http://www.jac-recruitment.jp/
En Japan
CDS http://www.cds-consulting.com/e/
Intelligence http://igs.inte.co.jp/en

Smaller Foreign Recruiters & Outsourcers
Boyd & Moore http://www.bmes.com
Adept Group http://www.adept-grp.com/en/ Specializing in Startups
Legal Intel / Accounting Intel http://www.legal-intel.com/
Morgan McKinley http://www.morganmckinley.co.jp/en
Slate Consulting http://www.slate.co.jp/
Skillhouse http://www.skillhouse.co.jp/en/ IT Outsourcer
Specialized Group http://www.specialized-group.com/en/Default.aspx
T2 Tokyo http://www.talent2.com/home
Talisman https://www.talisman-corporation.com/en/
The Bridge Group http://www.bridgegroup.co.jp/
Wahl & Case http://www.wahlandcase.us/
Vision Consulting http://www.visionconsulting.jp/en/
systemsGo http://www.systemsgo.co.jp – IT outsourcer
stoneman group http://www.systemsgo.asia/en/
Options Group http://www.optionsgroup.com/
Harvey Nash http://www.harveynash.com/jp/
Dimple http://www.dimples.co.jp/company/outline/
MRI Network http://mrinetwork.com/
East West Recruiting http://www.ewc.co.jp/DefaultEN.aspx
Ingenium Group http://ingeniumgroup.com/
Eire Group http://www.eiresystems.com/ IT Outsourcer
Intersoft KK http://intersoftkk.com/portal2/ IT Outsourcer
Optia Partners http://www.optiapartners.com/
K2 Partnering http://k2partnering.com/

Summary of the Meetup
5 attendees

Subjects Discussed
Intro: My background
26 yr job history
16 job changes
Progression of roles in career
Importance of Learning on the Job
Working in a Gaishikei vs Japanese company
Getting jobs via friends vs getting a job by an ad or recruiter
Importance of good teams
Speaking your opinion
Handling conflicts in a 2nd language
Being a leader
Being customer facing
Transferring within a company as a technical person
Impressions of different recruitment companies
Using Linkedin
Which job boards are good for bilingual foreigners
Visible Products vs Invisible Products
Different sales roles – finding new customers vs account managing existing customers
Being a coordinator as a salesperson
Is learning programming helpful as a salesperson
Challenges of being a salesperson – forecasting, listening to customers,
Being a customer champion
Changing careers – going from engineer to sales, and from sales to ….

Q&A
Differences between Foreign and Japanese company interviews?
Differences between Foreign and Japanese company cultures?
Any difference in how older applicants are treated?

Record, Listen, Share Audio